Starter Kit for new and rusty MA Students?

nini312

I have been out of school for almost 5 years now, and returning to get my Masters in Organizational Behavior, but I just realized I may be a bit rusty.

Things like how to write a paper, or what do students these days use to take notes (laptops, notebooks?), etc. I know the questions sound a bit amateur, but it's been so long that I find myself scrutinizing over these details.

So I guess my question is- what is a good starter kit for study materials and grad school life guides that I should be looking into? Perhaps that is what Orientation Day is all about?

Hey nini312,

I'm an undergrad going on to get my PhD in the Fall, so I haven't been out of the schooling system yet and hope my tidbit of advice helps.

1) I usually use either a paper-filled binder or a laptop for notes. You will probably find a mix of note taking preferences in the classroom. Whatever works best for you, really. Obviously, make sure the prof isn't offended that you have a laptop with you in class (I'm sure most will be fine with it). I, personally, have never asked permission to bring one in but will be wary in grad school, just in case. I would switch back and forth between hand-written notes and typed notes and print out my typed notes if I didn't feel like staring at my computer screen to review them. Some of my profs made their Powerpoint presentations available online, so I would save them to my computer and take notes in the "notes" section of the slide while they lectured. Sometimes I would print out the small slides and take notes on that paper. Currently I use an HP Pavilion laptop, which I like very much...but obviously there are a whole host of great brands available.

2) If you really NEED perfect notes, then bring a mini voice recorder with you, or record the lecture using your laptop. Again, check to see if the prof is o.k. with you recording the lecture.