GPA Conversion

shai

Does anyone know of a reliable way to convert grades from 0-100 scale to the 0-4.0 GPA scale ?

I'm an international student and have no idea what grades you guys consider as good.

The most basic conversion is:

A 4.0

B 3.0

C 2.0

D 1.0

Like I said, thats the most basic, and I would not use that to fill out an application, but it should give you a very rough estimate. On most applications I've seen though, you can write your GPA on a 100 or 4.0 scale.

Don't try to convert them in your actual application. For your own information though, WES (lots of schools use or even require applicants to use these guys to evaluate international applicants backgrounds) has buried somewhere in their website a tool for converting international grades to the US 4.0 system.

Have one of your letter writers talk about your performance relative to the rest of the class. If you're applying to a big school that receives lots of applications, the admit committee is probably already aware that different systems grade differently. But it is important to highlight the difference if you think there will be confusion - a UK 80% is a remarkably rare achievement, but would be considered average or worse by an American with no idea how things work elsewhere.

For the most part:

90-100 = A = 4.0

80-89 = B = 3.0

70-79= C = 2.0

60-69= D = 1.0

69 and below = F = 0

There are some differences especially in the C through F range, but that should help you with a rough estimate.

Conversion of your percent to grades on the US scale isn't meaningful unless you earned those percentages in the US system. For example, if you had been to my university and gotten 69% in a course, your grade for that course would be a B-. That doen't mean that my uni is easier than the average US uni, just that scales are calibrated differently - B- work at my uni would be B- work at generic US uni (let's pretend they're all homogenous) but it would be given high 60% here and low 80% there.