Masters in Top 5 program or PhD in Program ranked 70

Hi all,

I graduated from a top 5 university in Applied Mathematics with a BS.

I was accepted to a university in England to pursue a PhD there, but I returned in January after a semester, because I did not like the structure of the PhD program in England at all. It was far different from my expectations.

Upon returning, I had two options to apply to because I was too late to apply to most schools:

1)Tufts, ranked 70 in math wanted to accept me last year but ran out of funding for applied math students. They encouraged me to apply again this year. I did and they've yet to send out their admissions decisions.

2) my undergraduate university (ranked top 5 in applied math) offers a 1 year masters degree in applied math for previous undergrads. This would be unfunded.

-It's likely I'll be accepted to both because I am very qualified for option 1 and have inside contacts in 2. Can someone help me sort out these options.

My Thoughts:

-It sucks that option 2 would be unfunded, but I feel like if I ultimately want to pursue a PhD, this program would really beef up my CV for next year if I choose to apply to other PhD programs. I also assume the credits would transfer due to the regarded name of the institution. 

-Option 1 on the other hand gave me a great vibe. I also liked the potential professors. The overall prestige of the department isn't really there, though.

Note: my current qualifications wouldn't get me into a top 20 PhD program in applied math in the US. My GPA was a 3.50 which is decent at a top 5 university in applied math, but I went to school part time during a few semester and took 4.5 years to finish my degree due to money/family issues.

Help me out, please :)

Did you ever consider working for a year? I feel like it might not be necessary to increase your debt level. If you're already a qualified candidate, look for an RA position somewhere.