What does it take to get in?

papercuts

Hi everyone,

I have been reading grad school related stuff for a long time and finally decided to take the plunge. My main concern however is to be seen as too weak a candidate for admission to a phd program in education. The main reason I'm asking this is experience. My understanding is that to be accepted to phd or EdD program you need a long teaching career. I will have taught for 3 years before I begin grad school. I have a Master's degree in an unrelated field and worked for two years in a university library for 2 years before teaching. I will be 28 when I begin.

It looks like I have absolutely no chance at places like Harvard, Upenn or other top schools with 10%-20% acceptance rates. Would you agree with this? What was your profile like that got you in?

Thanks for the answers.

I don't think that's true at all. You may need something else to make your application stand out: high GRE scores, good undergrad or Masters institution and GPA, etc.

I was accepted to many programs, including some top-ranked ones and I don't really have a long-term teaching background (I have lots of short assignments in varied subjects).

For "research" doctoral programs, either EdD or PhD, your "research experience or skills," along with impressive GRE & GPA, should be more helpful for you doctoral admission than teaching experiences, because, once you are in the program, you would have to go through extensive research training and produce original research results for your dissertation.

If you are interested in a "practitioner's" doctorate such as Ed.LD, your "teaching or administrative experiences" would be more important for your application.