Sci-fi/Fantasy Moratorium

Amayan

I've never written science fiction or fantasy before, so I wasn't really affected by this - but why do so many MFA programs not allow these genres to be submitted?  I know these stories can be very successful and amazing, so is it that they are considered low art or of less literary value in MFA culture?

I haven't heard of any programs disallowing scifi / fantasy work. I will say that most MFA programs are built for writers who write literary fiction instead of genre fiction. I doubt any program will straight up not let you submit genre fiction --but they'd be more likely to accept you if you approached genre fiction in a "literary" way, a la Jonathan Lethem

That's weird--I understand screenplays if they don't have a screenwriting track, but writing off genres of fiction seems closed-minded--especially since they brag about an alum who writes genre-fiction: westerns.

They also seem happy to use a webpage from 1993, so...

Also odd considering that fantasy is probably the second most popular genre of fiction, after romance. Romantic fantasies have been blowing up the best sellers list, seems like, for the last decade or so. All those YA books aimed at just that combination. It's kind of a horrible development, but those books do sell.... 

That school isn't the only one. Feast your eyes on this delightful tidbit from Vanderbilt's FAQ. Yes, Vanderbilt.

Do you consider applications in genre-fiction (speculative, science fiction, fantasy, mystery writing, children’s literature, and the like)?

No, we do not.

Righto.