Low GPA & GRE...Help! Need Advice!

Grad Panic

Ok, so I am applying for MA programs in Cultural Anthropology. In a nutshell, I was at Loyola U., and failed a semester (not to get too personal, but my mom & I were the victims of a random assault and carjacking on the way back to college - should have taken a semester off to get a grip, but didn't and there you go). I studied for a semester at Oxford U. and in London with Sarah Lawrence (got a 3.5 from these institutions) and finished at USF. The last 2 semesters of school, I finished with a 3.9, BUT my cum GPA is now a 3.2 b/c of grades at Loyola. I did re-take the classes I failed while I was at Loyola, but they didn't have a grade forgiveness policy, so they are still shown:(

GRE: V (680) Q (450) AW (5.5) I know Quantitative is pathetically low, but from what I understand, Quantitative is not taken as seriously for Cultural Anthropology (it's more humanities than social science as I understand it)

Should I throw in the towel? Start grabbing kleenex? I do have several friends who are PhD profs at a private university helping me with my writing process for the letter of intent.

Do I even stand a chance, though? Should I start applying to the University of Idiocy and Embarrassment? Apply to the Jedi Academy instead and give up on grad school altogether? Seriously, any feedback will be appreciated!

3.2 isn't that bad. People do get into grad school with GPAs below 3.0 even. What is your GPA in your major? That is more important than your overall GPA.

I think you might want to retake the GRE after studying math a bit more. Aim to get above 500.

Good luck!