"Good" GRE scores?

serling126

Hi All, I am currently an undergrad and am beginning to research grad programs in chemistry and their entrance requirements. Some of the programs I am considering list their minimum GRE score requirements (and there is a wide range) but my top school does not publish their minimums and I can't find any information online about what are the average scores of those admitted. It is a large university but is not considered a "top" school. So, in general, what generally constitutes a "good" GRE score (verbal, quantitative, analytical and chem)? Thanks!

If you're going for something like analytical chem (this is what my MS is in):

Q: 162 - 170

V: 160 - 170

AW: 4.5 - 6

chemGRE: 75-99th percentile

These are just estimates of where you should be aiming. Of course the closer you are to the max, the better. Remember, the adcomm takes into account GPA, SOP, GRE, and LORs into account so don't stress too much over the GRE (start studying early, take a few practice exams and you should be fine). Good luck with your applications

For chemistry program using chemistry GRE score, you can expect a minimum for 50% for citizen applicants and 80% for international applicants would be a decent benchmark. Although these numbers that I know of are 3 years ago, gathered from professors at different schools that I interacted with.

My goal was:

Quant: 165+

Verbal: 160+

Writing: 4.5+

The GRE does not seem to be one of the top factors considered by schools. I ended up with very good GRE scores and they were not commented on at all at interviews. My LORs were commented on at almost every interview though... So study for the GRE but don't stress yourself out too bad. I used Magoosh to study which helped me a lot.

You want to hit 160+ in both sections. That's the basic benchmark for jumping through the GRE hoop.