Statement of Purpose hooks, help please!

Hello all!

I will be graduating in 2 years with my Bachelor's degree in Communicative Disorders and I started outlining my Statement of Purpose (SoP) early. I probably will start applying to grad programs in 2017 or 2018. I'm not sure if I want to apply immediately after I graduate or take a year or 2 off building work-related experience...

Anywho, I have listed a few possible introduction hooks that I want to include in it, but I'm not sure if there's potential in them.

1) My interest/curiosity for foreign language (I live in a multicultural neighborhood with Spanish-speaking neighbors, I learned French in high school, I started learning Korean when I entered college, and I'm interested in sign language/ASL).

2) Childhood struggles (I was in early intervention, was diagnosed with mild Cerebral Palsy, and had speech therapy until high school.) I was developing at a slower rate than my classmates, but I eventually caught up with everyone :)

3) Using my last name as a joke of some sort. I love phonetics because I can write my last name in IPA because it's difficult to pronounce it when you're looking at it on paper. It's not pronounced the way it looks on paper!

I like these ideas, but I'm not sure if any of them will make me stand out amongst everyone else that's applying to grad school and if one is better than the other.

Suggestions and input is great appreciated! Thanks guys and gals :))

Edited by Liza_Ann_92

definitely 2. overcoming adversity, experience with SLPs, understanding what your clients will be going through... etc. they'll definitely love that.

Hey, I think it's great that you are starting early! Definitely don't discredit the experiences you could have in the future that could change the course your statement :)

I think my two cents would be: