Funding

SeanDDavies

Would you reject an offer (if it's the only offer you have) based on funding? My field is Clinical/Counseling Psychology. I was offered $7k first year and $15k years 2, 3, and 4. Tuition is covered partially at $5k per year (it'll probably end up being around $8-10k a year). No insurance.

This is my only option this year. The program is okay but the adviser is great. Is it worth the gamble to try again next year or just take this offer? 

I'm not a psychologist so I can't answer that, though I think there's a poll over there where people are reporting on their highest/best funded offer. Definitely go look for it. I'm accustomed to seeing funded offers which include full tuition remission as well as a stipend of at least $14K. 

I'm a psychologist (although not in clinical or counseling, but I am familiar with the fields) and the answer is YES, many clinical and counseling programs do offer more funding. The best programs offer full tuition coverage, health insurance, and livable stipends in the $20-30K range.

With that said I would totally reject an offer based upon funding, and I would definitely reject that offer. $7K is not enough to live on, and neither is $15K - and that's not even accounting for the fact that you will have to borrow money to cover tuition for 5-6 years. There's no reason to go into serious debt for a PhD.