Taking classes Pass / Fail -- Good idea or bad one?

Averroes MD

Hello friends, 

I'm currently doing a master's degree with a hope to do a PhD (although most likely in the UK).

I'm debating whether to change one of my courses to Pass / Fail. It's not a language course. I'm just concerned that I might get a B in it... for some reason, I just have that bad feeling... I have all A's otherwise (although I've only had one semester of grades so far)...

Would it be wise to change to P / NP so that I don't get a B in the mix? 

Is taking one course a semester P / NP a big deal?

Thanks!

Edited by Averroes MD

If it's even tangentially related to what you'd want to study at the PhD level, then no, don't take it pass/fail. Generally, you want to avoid taking classes pass/fail if you want to pursue doctoral work. If you're in an MTS/MAR program, you should basically have none. One will raise a flag; more than that will be a serious problem. The problem is that a Pass grade is usually something from a D+/C- through an A, and an adcom has no way of telling where you fell on that spectrum. Pass reads as "did the minimum," which is not going to help you. Having one B isn't going to kill you, especially if it's not in your field.

Edited by theophany

I had a 3.8 in my UG and both M.A.s, so there were some B's in the mix every time (except my last MA-only A minuses there). I'm starting a PhD at Duke in the fall. My professors told me a thousand times not to worry about the occasional B and I never believed them until now. Seriously, it's not that big of a deal--just take the B and move on.

How about in regards to undergrad? Will graduate (MST) adcoms disapprove of one advanced language course taken for P/F?