Has anyone here proven the null hypothesis in their thesis?

Grashupfer

Hey all,

I'm wondering if anyone here has worked on a research project and has gotten data that does not prove their hypothesis.  Im my case I am studying sulfur isotope ratios in pyrite (that's right, fool's gold!) in a lake environment and seeing if it has any link to climate cycles supposedly seen in lake sediments.  I have found that there is no link between these two.  This is for my master's thesis.  My advisor tells me not to worry and that it is defendable and perhaps publishable material.  I am a little worried about my defense, which will be in maybe 6-8 weeks.  So has anybody had success defending or presenting this type of outcome for their research?  Should I be worried?

You should be fine.

Masters work doesn't even have to be publishable. 

I think its an interesting work if it was common thought that there was a relationship between two things and it turns out there is not. It probably isn't the sexiest of papers, but its work that needs to be done, and thats a really good masters work imo. 

Geodude, you are always there to help a fellow geologist! (You've posted in another topic that I made).  Nobody really knows. There have been 0 studies on this subject that I have come across.  I thought that there would be a relationship, but there is in fact none.  I'm just trying to think of possible explanations as to why there is no relationship.