Non-traditional Ph.D. Candidates

_kita

I was combing through the forum, I haven't seen a lot of posts from non-traditional PhD students. I know that there are a lot of us out there, but I'd like to hear and share experiences. Also, the nerves associated with garnering credentials and the career shift.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

After I graduated from my undergraduate degree, I wasn't quite competitive enough for a PhD. program, and life happened anyways. My GPA was a 3.4; Combined GRE 990 (old scale); research experience with poster presentations at APS and EPA. Experience as treasurer of psych club, Supplemental Instructor for general psych, and working with autistic children during a summer camp.

However, I knew I needed stronger credentials to be actually competitive. I had no distinct focus yet, and my interests ranged, well, everything. So, I retried about 4 years later after working with psychopathology (specifically schizophrenic, borderline personality, etc.) and teaching (anatomy & physiology/ethics/life span developmental psych/English composition).

Only to realize that, being out of school so long my scores weren't improved much (V 154; Q 145; AW 4.0), and with no current research experience, that was a waste of time! So, I went into a professional program. I chose College Counseling, since I knew it would be in the realm of academia and help me merge my experience in the field, get back into research, and work on fleshing out my credentials.