Failed Midterm. How can i recover?

So I'm currently getting a Masters degree in Statistics and I'm in my second semester. Last semester I received a 3.79 GPA. For the most part I've been doing really well in my classes, however, now I'm at a stump. 

This one class only has 3 grades to the class: the midterm, a project, and the final. There weight are 30%, 30%, and 40%, respectively. I bombed the midterm...got a 38%. This is the lowest grade I have ever gotten in my academic career. The test was 10 multiple choice questions. 

So what now? I already have made an appointment with my professor, but how should I go about it? A C in this class is 60-70%. I realize that if I get lower than a 3.0 GPA i may be on probation, but my GPA is much higher than that even if I got a D or F in this class. 

So if I got a D in this class, do you think I would be kicked out of this program? The idea of this stresses me out and is destroying me. I've been beating myself up badly. Any advice helps.

So if I got a D in this class, do you think I would be kicked out of this program? The idea of this stresses me out and is destroying me. I've been beating myself up badly. Any advice helps.

This is something your graduate program's handbook probably clarifies.  I think a D would raise some eyebrows regardless of whether you get kicked out, but you can redeem yourself. Don't beat yourself up too much.