Pacific University

I am so incredibly happy that I got into 2/3 of my top choice schools, Pacific U being one of them. I hope to make a decision by Monday.

I am from Washington, so I know little about Oregon, much less Forest Grove.

If you are attending Pacific University or from the area, I would really like your opinion and insight on some questions.

How is the SLP program and the forest grove campus? I hear there are about 3,000 students, mostly undergraduates and the optometry grad program.

What are rent prices like?

If I wanted to go out for a drink or some adventure, would it require me to have a car or is everything within a decent distance? How is the best system?

I hope you all the best of luck choosing the perfect school for you!

I did my special education master's degree at Pacific in 2006/7.  I was at the Eugene campus, but overall I was pleased with the University.

Forest Grove itself is on the very edge of the Portland area, near Hillsboro.  I couldn't imagine living there without a car.  If you'll be doing clinicals off campus, you will probably need one.  Craigslist will give you a good idea of rent ranges, but I would talk to current students about where you will actually want to live as a student.

Edited by misskira

• 2 months later...

I'm going to Pacific University program in the Fall (and beyond ecstactic about it)! I'm not sure if you decided to choose Pacific or not, but I've been living in NE Portland for the past year and a half and have zero intentions of moving out closer to school.  The commute isn't going to be the greatest, but as nuts as it sounds, that 40min-1.5 hour drive will be 100% worth it, because this city-town is WONDERFUL. I'm also considering bike commuting some days. Nuts? Probably.  But I do know some grads (and profs) do or have done it before!