Accepting an unfunded PhD offer, or taking a teaching job as a high school English teacher?

Hi, all.

I think I might have posted something similar before.

I'm an NYU graduate of Humanities. I have my MA from their Draper school. I applied to some PhD programs in Comparative Literature last fall, and much to my dismay, I received no acceptances.

Last year, in August 2014, I was offered an admission to Temple University's PhD in English. However, it was an unfunded offer. They gave me no info on funding, nor did they even mention a TA-ship. Also, no enrolled student can be offered a TA-ship if he or she was not offered one upon admission. :o

I deferred their offer of admission last August in efforts to work harder on my application. But I was still denied admission to all the schools I applied. I think I was kind of ambitious. All the schools I applied to were Ivy Leagues or Top-10s, and I only applied to 7. Next time, it should be 70. ;)

Well, on the plus side, I'm now a licensed NY English teacher. I even have a job offering at a Catholic high school in Queens.

My mates are telling me to take the unfunded offer to Temple as I can get my PhD in 4 years or less. It will also give me the opportunity to move out and start my new life in Philly. I had a miserable time in New York. Broken engagement, broke as hell, etc. :(

I have three options, but I'm not sure where to start:

- Option 1: Take the unfunded offer to Temple, move to Philly, and get my PhD from a lower-ranked university.

- Option 2: Try to get a high school teaching job, take a break from this mess of graduate school applications, and settle down as an English teacher for a while.

- Option 3: GO TO TEMPLE FOR A TERMINAL M.A. and then apply to PhD programs elsewhere after completion.

You could literally save my life right now. Please help. :(