small unknown school for undergrad = problem?

KieBelle

I graduated from a small (~8,000 students) private school in Hawaii that isn't well-known. My GPA was 3.94 and my GRE scores were 750V 760Q 5.5 writing. I'm applying to grad schools like UChicago, Boston Univ, Georgetown, Tel Aviv Univ, UWashington, etc.- not Ivy League, but still very respectable schools. I'm concerned that my undergrad school will negatively affect my chances of being accepted because it isn't a big name or widely respected school. What do you think? Is there anything I can do to mitigate any potentially negative effects?

I graduated from a small (~8,000 students) private school in Hawaii that isn't well-known. ... Is there anything I can do to mitigate any potentially negative effects?

Yes. Invent a time machine and either go back in time and attend a different school for undergrad or go further back in time and do something or get someone to make the school famous.

Or you could just not stress out about factors of your application that are completely beyond your control at this point.

Awww, you didn't find that helpful? The answer is, yes, programs put stock in the undergraduate institution. How much depends on what kind of school it is. If you can get people to attest in your LORs that your undergraduate coursework is challenging and that you excelled (as evidenced by your GPA), then you should be fine. I mean, yea, they might be more impressed by a 3.9 from Princeton or Harvard but there's not too much you can do other than put forward the best application that you can.

I'm going to agree with the above poster's earlier post. You can't do anything now to change where you graduated from. Now go do something that would help you out.