Just how hard is it to have an original idea?

Cardea

All,

I'm a second-year MA student in Classics at UIUC. I'm applying to MAR/MTS programs at seminaries this year (an POSSIBLY Ph.D. programs). I'm concerned about research, etc. I've not done much research, having had to focus on coursework, which is very much to my detriment. I guess I just have some concerns about getting in places without really having published anything, or even really done any research.

The answer to the question in your subject line is that you don't need an original idea necessarily. It could just be a new way of looking at something or applying a different theory to a text than has been done before.

As far as publishing, I did a two year MA, wrote a MA thesis, and am now in the second year of my PhD (at a different institution). I haven't published yet and probably won't even submit anything until summer 2010, at the absolute earliest.

Gotta love that.

Ugh, I know.

The OP seems to be pointing to two sorts of questions, the body of the text asks (1) "How important is past research to get in?" and the topic seems to ask (2) "how do you come up with an idea for research?"

(1) I've been stalking the CVs of philosophy grad students at a range of places, and there seem to be both people with undergrad/ma research as well as no undergrad/ma research.

(2) If you're really struggling for an idea, carefully look over the conclusions of some papers you like. They tend to point out unanswered questions. My conference presentation came from unabashedly taking one of those questions and answering it (of course, be sure to mention where it's coming from).

Religion is not something known for original ideas. You guys all rehash the same old shit over and over, but with different phrasing and analogies. No one at a religious institution has had an original idea for centuries. Just see how many times you can rephrase Paley's watchmaker argument.