Overcoming poor grades in math prereqs

Hi, I'm new to these fora. Please forgive me if questions of this type have been answered elsewhere.

I am interested in applying to (top-15) biostatistics graduate programs. I graduated in the spring of 2014, and ideally I would like to apply to programs this fall, with the intent to matriculate in the fall of 2016.

I have a strong application in many ways--co-authorship as a statistician on an original, peer-reviewed article; 2 years' experience doing data analysis for other PI's; 3 years' experience using SAS; strong letters of recommendation; A's in other relevant upper-level coursework (Bayesian statistics, epidemiology, biostatistics...); etc.--but not in every way. Ultimately I just didn't so hot in the standard prerequisite mathematics sequence: AP credit for Calculus I, A in Calculus II, B+ in Calculus III (multivariable), and a whopping C+ in linear algebra.

So my question is less "Is this a problem" than it is "So now what do I do about it?" Even if I crush the GRE (my current focus), my sense is that I need to do ore to overcome that C+ in linear algebra. Do I need to re-take the class? (Not possible to re-take at mu undergraduate institution, but I could look into taking it locally or online.) Do I need to take a different, higher-level "pure" math class? Do I need to pre-emptively offer to retake the class at the institutions to which I apply (i.e.,in the summer of 2016, as part of the "refresher" course/sequence that many universities encourage/offer)? Do I give up altogether and look into becoming a poet?

Insight and suggestions are much appreciated. Thanks!