Getting an LOR from a professor in different department

Hi, So I took this physics course from a Physics professor in Freshman year and did great. My major is molecular biology, however. But I personally know this professor and He would actually write me stellar recommendation than some of my own department professors. While I'll also be asking for LOR's from faculties of my own department, do you guys think an LOR from a Professor from a different department but in the same university will weigh less compared to those from professors of my own department? Thanks.

It's a good idea to get an LOR from a prof in a different department (I definitely did), but if you only took that one physics course during your freshman year and haven't really worked with him since then (research, independent project, TA, etc.) then I'm not sure how much weight his letter would have to an admission committee. Just food for thought.

It's generally not a bad idea, though it's better if the majority of your LORs come from people in your field. It does mean that the adcom won't know him and therefore it might carry somewhat less weight than a letter from someone the adcom knows and trusts, but in the end a strong letter is a strong letter, and that matters most. In this case, I am not sure how come this professor can write you a stellar LOR, since you say you took just one course with him and it was in freshman year. What does it mean that you know him personally? It makes me a little bit suspicious. 

I didn't have a single letter from a professor in my dept.  :P Granted, I'd been doing research related to the field I plan to join, not the field I'm currently in. I think it matters less where they come from and more the context they know you in. I definitely agree with the others that you should be getting letters from professors who know you in a research context rather than professors who can say "yeah he got an A in my class."