Master, Cornell or OSU

seaninbuaa

Hey guys, I just ran into this situation these days. I got admissions of Cornell Master of Engineering in Systems Engineering (track: Logistics Engineering) and Ohio State Master of Business Logistics Engineering, both are STEM program and have 29-month OPT. I don't know which program I should choose to enroll finally. I majored in Aerospace Engineering in undergraduate study and I plan to seek for job opportunities in consulting or logistics industry in the US after graduate study, and now I have no idea which program can promote my professional skills and background and better help me get a job, so I am seeking for you guys' suggestions.

Cornell Systems Engineering (MEng)

Program duration: 9 months (Commencement will be on May 24, 2016)

Curriculum: Fall semester: Model Based Systems Eng, Systems Eng For the Design and Operation of Reliable Systems, Operations                          Research: Optimization, Design Project, Design of Manufacturing Systems.

Spring semester: Systems Analysis and Optimization, Project Management, Design Project, Principles of Supply Chain                            Management.

Adv: Cornell, good reputation of engineering.

Aluminum.

Con: Location, Ithaca...(Hmm, a good place for academia)

Short program duration (not good to international students) and high pressure of study and job hunting. (But it can be extended)

Few supply chain management course. (Because I transfer to this major and did not study supply chain related courses before.)

The placement is unknown.

OSU Master of Business Logistics Engineering (MS)

Program Duration: 3 semesters (Commencement will be in Dec 2016)

Curriculum: Fall: Linear Optm, Transportation Magm, Strategic Logistics Magm, Organizational Behavior.

Spring: Modeling & Simulation, Warehouse Design, OR, Seminars, Log Decisions and Control, Log Tech & App.

Summer: Internship

Fall: Lean Sigma, Teamwork & Leadership, Log Analysis, SCM, Prob in Logistics.