Is it worth applying?

Gram Neutral

Hello everyone,

I am a bit impatient here, so this is pretty early, but I'm looking for some feedback. I graduated in 2013 and applied to some PhD programs. I got 2 interviews but got denied at both schools. I spent the following summer working for a professor I interviewed with at one of the schools, and then I worked as a lab tech for the rest of the year. I applied to basically the same programs, and didn't get any interviews. I sat this year out, worked at an amazing internship in Europe working on some pretty cool drug research. Now I am back home and have a job in pharmaceutical research and development. I'm also taking  grad classes and enrolled in a master's program an okay school. I'm in my first 2 classes now, and will be in another one in the fall, maybe two. That would be 12 credits of graduate school, and so far it looks like I will have a 4.0 this semester. My undergrad gpa at a top 50 school was 3.1 but 3.4 in my last 2 years, my V was 158 and my Q was 160 with a 4.0 in writing, and I had 2 years of undergrad experience. Now for the questions. Is it even worth applying to the same schools I applied to twice before, or are those pretty much wasted money? Is it beneficial to finish my masters, or does it not really make a difference? Will those 12 graduate courses help a lot? I took the GRE in 2012, should I retake it? My list before was UIC, Iowa, MCW, UIUC, Loyola, Pitt, and Florida last year. 

Why don't you apply to some new schools? If you want to apply to the same ones, I would contact POIs there and explain about the last two years and ask for feedback. Tell them about your new/updated research and academic experience and politely ask them if they are interested in receiving your application or not. But I would definitely add some new ones to the mix. Also you may also want to re-take the GRE and raise your scores.

Good luck!

Edited by iphi