PhD in Clinical Psychology Program

codylaylow

Hello all,

I am a recent grad of Stanford University. I did not study psychology, I studied American Studies and Art Practice. I received a 3.7 gpa and produced an honors thesis under a respected academic who will write a great recommendation for me when the time to apply for grad school comes. I will be taking the next year off to study psychology/ audit psych classes in Bozeman, Montana and prepare for the GRE before attending grad school in fine arts at SFAI.

I think I may want to switch tracks and apply for a phd in psychology because I am feeling passionate about psychology, specifically clinical psychology. I am very curious about the intersection of art and identity formation and intend to do research on the topic. 

Does it make sense to try and apply to PhD programs in clinical psychology after I study very hard an nail the GRE and GRE psych subject test? Are the odds good that my interdisciplinary research focus during undergrad has prepared me to adapt to psych research, or would it be better to start with a masters program (not really something that I can afford?) 

Can anyone give me insight into whether or not it is a bad idea to try and apply to psych programs?

Best,

C

Hi there,

Clinical psych is pretty cool. So it's cool that you're wanting to look into it.

I think what will help you really decide is to read papers about what you intend to study (the cheapest thing you can do right now ...besides finding an position in a research lab in what you're interested). Read Read Read. And then see if you can volunteer someplace ...and then see how you feel about spending money applying to clinical psych programs. 

You are in a good position to apply, but it's good to see if you'll be happy/successful after getting in (because sometimes getting in is the easy part ...sometimes...)