Chances of getting into top program? Synthetic Chemistry/Pharmacology

Jmanny

Hello! I am an incoming senior from the UC system. I am studying Chemical Engineering with a emphasis is Biochemistry.  My GPA at the moment isn't the highest right now, but will gradually be increasing. I was wondering if some of my choices for a Ph.D in Synthetic/Organic Chemistry were out of reach. I am an engineering major, but I am trained in Organic Chemistry. I was wondering if the committee may look at my GPA differently, since it is relatively good for an engineer. 

Major: CHEMICAL ENGINEERING

Minoring: CHEMISTRY

Cumulative GPA: probably around a 3.4 by the time I apply

Chemical Engineering GPA: probably around a 3.5 by the time I apply

GRE Verbal: 160

GRE Quantitative: 168  

GRE Analytical: 5.0

GRE Chemistry: Not planning on taking it (no time).

Recommendations: (1) Strong Recommendation from my PI, who attended UC IRVINE for his PHD and Post-Doc at Princeton, (2) Distinguished Professor from UC Berkeley that was my PI during the REU; (3) Very Strong Recommendation from my Chemical Engineering Professor that I've been working for 2 years and will get a patent with; (4) Optional: Recommendation from the DEAN of the College of Engineering

Experience: 3 years of Undergraduate Research in Organic Synthetic (Natural Products), 2.5 years Undergraduate Research in Chemical Engineering Designs, and Summer REU at UC BERKELEY (UC LEADS Scholar)

Other unrelated EC's: PRESIDENT of my College of Engineering, Chapter PRESIDENT of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)

Besides that, I would like to mention that I am also a Gates Millennium and UC LEADS Scholar and is funded 5-years for graduate studies. 

Top Schools:

Johns Hopkins University, University of Washington, Columbia University, UC Berkeley, UCLA, Boston University, Yale University, Harvard University, and Boston College