Quit and Reapply to a PhD Program

jeffninja

Hi all, I am a second year PhD student in a top 50 program. I don't like my current program because few faculties work on the subfield I am interested in. My advisor doesn't like me either and thus I decided to quit my current program and reapply for the 2016 Fall. I have good GRE scores (V168 Q166), good grades in statistics courses, and research experience (a good working paper ready for peer review). My undergraduate GPA is OK, but my graduate GPA is a problem. As an international student, I didn't do well in my first semester in US so now my GPA is only 3.5. I also taught an undergraduate class and did several RA works.

So is it wise for me to reapply to top programs? Will a low graduate GPA have a great impact on the application? Thank you for your attention!

Now is the time to abandon ship, if you are going to do it. Normally you can only transfer one year. Make sure you are upgrading to a higher level program, ideally top 10. If it was in your first semester and your grades improved, they will account for that. They will probably be familiar with your situation. Once you defend your proposal, it is kind of late to switch, so its now or never.

Now is the time to abandon ship, if you are going to do it. Normally you can only transfer one year. Make sure you are upgrading to a higher level program, ideally top 10. If it was in your first semester and your grades improved, they will account for that. They will probably be familiar with your situation. Once you defend your proposal, it is kind of late to switch, so its now or never.

Yes! I am ready for reapplying to a top 10 program but my only concern is my graduate GPA. I was told that top programs usually have cutoff point for GPA but they never admit that. I would be very disappointed if my application could not even pass the first-round screening.