EALC - Fall 2016

Hi everybody!

It seems that no one has started a thread for this year so...here we go!

I'm a recent graduate of UC Berkeley with a BA in Chinese and Japanese and a minor in Architecture History.

I'm planning on applying to some graduate programs in Chinese Studies with a focus on modern literature and pop culture but I'm not sure what would be a good choice—a MA or a PhD? Also, I've heard that PhD's tend to be competitive for those without MA's. On the other hand, I've been told by a grad student from Berkeley that the MA is usually for students who want to up their language skills of which I am pretty much fluent (both Chinese and Japanese in modern and classical)

Also, I have a list of schools that I'm considering on applying to here:

UCLA~MA

USC~ PhD

Princeton~PhD

Cal~PhD

Harvard~PhD

UPenn~PhD 

UW Seattle~MA

UMich~PhD

UChicago~PhD

Stanford~PhD

Columbia~PhD

Yale~MA

WashU, ~PhD

Georgetown~MA

I would kind of like a safety school or two to apply to but I'm not too sure which schools have good programs in my field that can be considered a safety...

And just because everybody else seems to do this, here are some stats: 

GPA: 3.75 (in EALC: 3.92);

Awards: Valedictorian in EALC, Huang Scholarship, Deans Honors

Studied abroad at Beijing Normal University

*I haven't taken the GRE yet but any advice on that would be helpful as well!

Thank you all!

Hi machacreampuff! Since you have a number of language skills under your belt, why not try applying to a mix of PhD and MA programs? The fact of the matter is that language skills alone will not guarantee an admission or success in a PhD program; the skills you learn during an MA go beyond simple language training. Often times MA programs provide students with their first taste of graduate-level seminar courses and independent research, plus the experience of writing longer papers and theses. That said, I do see some students go straight into PhD programs with success.