Portfolio Day, worth it or not?

Barber

Hi everyone! This is my first year applying for my MFA and doing the whole rodeo, and as a non-art world person (B.S in Chemistry '13, been working for the FED in the meantime) I am a tad confused on portfolio day, and would appreciate any input on the topic. 

I checked the portfolio day website (portfolio.net), and since there are only 3 Graduate portfolio days, I'm wondering if its something I should do. I work primarily in ceramics and mixed media, both of which would be much too large to transport. SO the big question is really, is it worth it to go? Or should I just stick with school visits?

Thanks so much!

Hey 09, so, I'm also a non-art-world person and I went last year to the portfolio day -- a whole year early -- on the theory that more information's better than less, and I wanted to hear some people critique my work (and see how they would respond to my unusual background). My work has since drastically changed but I still think it was a very worthwhile experience. Getting a sense for how subjective the process was one key benefit, seeing which schools or which types of schools really respond to your work is another, as are making some connections, getting feedback on how to improve your portfolio and refine your concept, and checking out some new schools you might not have considered before. I will most likely go again this year with my actual portfolio.