Lots of false starts ...

multifaceted

(This isn't meant to be a sob story so I hope it doesn't sound like one.)

I have a Bachelor's degree in the arts from 2002. During an attempt at graduate school in music I realized that while I loved academia, the arts are not right for me. As cliche and as corny as it sounds, I love the idea of the open exchange of ideas and learning. For the next several years, I attempted to get started on a graduate degree in Computer Science at two different schools. Finances finally caught up with me and I had to leave almost 3 years ago at the age of 30. This devastated me and I have always been looking back over my shoulder wondering "What if?" The only jobs I have been able to get are working in small businesses who know nothing about software development. They only got into the business because someone threw some money at them to make a website. My academic and research mindset does not work well with this and I have been fired from the last two jobs I have had.

The internet has let me be an academic somewhat vicariously. iTunes University and MIT OpenCourseWare are what keep me sane sometimes. The mathematical rigor of Computer Science provides the structured environment that I thrive off of. I often quote Bjarne Stroustroup "I prefer to know when a system works, and why." This is again different from the world of small business IT which says "just get it working and if it breaks we'll deal with it." My areas of interest is programming languages (namely domain specific languages and virtual machines) and I also am interested in software systems development methods. I order used textbooks off of Amazon and EBay for low prices so that I can at least keep my academic side busy but it's not enough.