How to figure out what to do after graduate while in studies?

bob_mcbobson

Hey everybody,

I am about to start my master's in bioinformatics in a few weeks. I have started learning online some basic programming in order to be better prepared for class, also started looking over my old notes on molecular biology, and so on, but I have been troubled in the past few weeks with other kinds of questions– namely, what will I do after my Master's is complete?

For a variety of logistical and emotional reasons, I had no idea what to pursue after I finished my Bachelor's in biochemistry. I did some internships, but I felt lost and overwhelmed with the number of options available. The fact that I was also having to decide what to pursue between two continents (I went to school in USA, but my parents live in Europe) made the decision process much more difficult. I eventually found a graduate program that fascinates me and will give me a versatile set of skills that can be applied in a variety of fields. But given its relatively short duration, I'm worried about running into the same blockade as before. Although obviously the circumstances will be much different than before, what can I do avoid this?

At the heart of this issue is the hackneyed "I don't know what I'm doing with my life" theme, which I will not get into mostly because I have found that it isn't constructive to try answering that question head-on. Instead I want to learn about what strategies I can implement in the near future so that I can figure out whether I should find a job/internship, do a second Master's, or even possibly pursue a PhD as soon as this Master's program is finished. I am open to any and all tips from anyone who has been through this kind of predicament.