Applying to PhD in Anthropology w/o Anthro Degree

ladyoflight17

Hi All, 

I found this forum really helpful in the past for my MA application, so I am posting again, this time for PhD. I am an MA Student in Religion. My interest is in the Anthropology of Religion, looking at the intersections of race, religion and identity and in particular the construction of identity through religious expression and ritual. Over the course of my MA studies, I have come to realize that I may be better suited to an Anthropology PhD program as opposed to a Religion PhD. I have been grappling with this issue a lot over the past few months, specifically because I do not have an Anthropology Degree. My experience with the discipline has been limited to  an Anthropology of Development course for my previous Masters in Development Studies and my current ethnographic research for my MA thesis in Religion. 

I was wondering whether I stand a chance in applying to Anthropology PhD programs - I have been thinking of the Anthropology Programs at NYU, Princeton and Purdue - I know that these programs are super competitive but they all have professors who specialize in my concentration of interest (anthropology of religion; historical anthropology) and in my geographic area (the Americas, particularly the African diaspora in the Americas). 

I also am applying to two religion programs with strong anthropology components as a backup... 

Any thoughts/ advice/ words of wisdom on what you think my chances (realistically) are would be appreciated. Any advice on other programs that may be a potential fit with my interests would also be appreciated... 

Thanks in advance!