Expectations of Graduate Adviser

gatorsoc85

Hello All! I am hearing a lot of conflicting information regarding availability of graduate advisers/chairs for their students. As I get ready for PhD studies, I wonder what should one expect? Obviously, there will be ebbs and flows depending on schedules, but what is the norm out there?

Are they available for drop ins at all for their students?

Do they usually have weekly, monthly, semesterly meetings with their students?

Are they generally responsive to emails?

What strategies have folks found helpful?

I have a few friends in PhD programs who are miserable because they don't receive any guidance or assistance from their adviser and I would like to avoid that if possible!

The answer to all of that is "it depends." The only thing that matters is what your advisor actually does, not what "usually" happens with other advisors at other schools. These things also partly depend on school culture and on individual preferences. You also need different levels of attention and input at different stages of your career. I know some people who meet with their advisor maybe once a semester, and others who have a weekly meeting. Advisors whose door is always open and ones that you always have to schedule a meeting with. I know some who are great with emails and others that e.g. are easier to find over the phone. Also some who encourage their students to talk to others, and some that want you to only talk to them.