options for those without a psych background

izza

I have an undergraduate degree in the humanities and trying to find my way into academic psychology. I did fairly well in my undergrad years (3.6 total 3.8 major GPA) and am confident in my standardized testing skills when it comes time to take the GRE. My objective is to study in cognitive psych, specificially interested in decision making, will, and motivation.  However, I didn't take any psychology or natural sciences course in my first degree. I'm aware that I'll have to catch up some basic coursework no matter what path I take but I'm not sure what the most efficient way to this coupled with the quality of my catch-up sources as perceived by an admissions team.

The most economical option is to enroll in courses at a community college. I'm concerned that an admissions committee might look down on this or might not accept it as adequate preparation. Does anyone have any experience with this? Would it be better received if I were to enroll in non-credit courses at a university?

I'm also considering a second bachelors degree at a traditional university. This option costs a great deal more money and time. I'm willing to do it if that's what has to be done but looking down the barrel of another round of student loans and two more years of my life just doesn't seem like the smartest option.

Many graduate programs offer conditional acceptance for catching up to prerequisites or taking necessary coursework. I haven't come across any psych program that offer this so far. Does anyone knows of programs that offer options such as this?

Thank you!

If your goal is graduate study in Psychology, with an end goal of doing research you'd be banking on being admitted with an entire bachelor's degree worth of "deficiencies". Usually the deficiencies allowable are minor and something that can be dealt with in a short amount of time. 

There are a few options as I see it: