Choices for church history/historical theology

CO_west

Sorry if all these questions have been covered. I discovered the site this weekend and have been exploring like crazy.

I graduated from a university affiliated with Churches of Christ in 2009 with a bachelor's in English and history. Overall GPA was 3.33. Worked on staff at a church for part of that time and have spent the last two years as an English/history teacher at a public high school. Now that I'm in my late twenties, I'm thinking it's now or never to pursue my passion of studying church history and theology.

I've been looking at Princeton Theological Seminary, since I am especially interested in the Reformed/Presbyterian tradition, but I'm looking at tons of other places. I don't know how much it hurts me to not be Presbyterian as far as PTS is concerned. I've dreamed about applying to the other big name schools, but I honestly have no idea if it would be a total waste of time.

The big question I have is whether to pursue the MTS/MATS or the MDiv. Obviously getting in is important to me, and it seems like MDiv has a slight edge for ease of admission at most schools. More important, though, is which degree would be more suitable for my goal of pursuing a PhD. Maybe an MDiv would be best, since it would give me time to get some language skills and I definitely want to teach in a Christian environment. On the other hand, an MTS/MATS would be quicker and less expensive (depending on funding), and it would give me the chance to really focus in on my interests and work on a thesis.

If the MTS is a better choice, that raises some other questions. As far as eventual admission to a quality doctoral program goes, would it be better to get an MTS at a school that is a little lower on the totem pole than an MDiv at a top-tier institution?