Programs and evaluation

Reif

Hi everyone,

I plan to apply for PhD in Education(especially education policy/analysis) next year. Would anyone be able to give me some advice on what I should do now so that I have an upper hand a year later when applying?

Here is my brief background.

I am an international student with a Bachelor degree in Finance, and currently, I study an econ master at UW-Madison. Before coming here to the U.S., I have worked tow years as a research assistant at a top research center in my country (probably in the world as well), doing empirical studies on law, policy and economics. However, I do not have any experience in actual teaching or administration work. I plan to apply for programs on the east coast, especially in NY state for family reason. So, I aim at TC Columbia, NYU, Boston, UPenn, Harvard and so forth. I would like to know:

1. There are different PhD or Ed programs. If I want to become a professor or a researcher in the future, which kind of program should I choose? I am a little confused.

2. How much does GPA weigh in applying the program? My undergrad GPA is about 85/100 from the best University in my country (world rank 60-70).

3. Are there any prerequisite courses I need to take? I have looked up the programs' websites but found little information about it. It seems like they accept people from a wide range of discipline.

4. How does GRE matter for schools in different tiers? My GRE taken ten months ago was 168 Q/ 155 V/ 3.5 A. Do I have to take it again?

5. This one is specific to those with a degree in economics. Does having such a degree give me a better chance at being admitted in terms of the quantitative training and research methodology I have received from the master program? 

6. How much does writing sample weigh in application? I am working with a professor now on crime and education policy (economic theory and empirics mixed). Can it be a strong signal for my research potential?