Phone Meetings with Professors

peffy1962

Hi everyone,

I know this probably overlaps with the thread on e-mailing professors, but I wanted to get some advice. I was planning on reaching out to various professors via e-mail with a note that basically covers stuff like, "this is me, these are my research interests, I enjoyed your work on X topic and am applying to your school for next fall, is your research continuing along these lines and are you currently accepting new students?"

After I'd crafted a draft of these e-mails, I met with one of my undergraduate professors who suggested that instead of posing questions at the end of the e-mail, I should request to speak with them on the phone. I feel like I'm a better writer than speaker, so I'm a bit hesitant to do this, though I know that I will likely leave more of an impression on the professors if I speak with them on the phone. That being said, I think I am going to go ahead and request phone appointments (unless anyone thinks I can get away with the strictly e-mail approach! ;)).

Before I do that, however, I want to make sure that I have a general idea of how these types of calls typically go. I assume I should have some questions prepared to ask about their research and the program itself, but how many should I have ready? How long do these calls generally last? Is it better to have more questions about their research, or about the program itself? Do I talk about my background at all, or should I really aim to make it more about them? And is there any room for casual conversation, or should I jump right into the formal stuff?

I think that about covers my questions -- any insight or advice would be great!

Are you going to request phone appointments via email?