Hard Decision

stormtrooper

I'm an international student for EU and US/CA. Currently attending University of Toronto (M.Sc. of computer science). I've received good news from the University of Oxford (computer science) for my PhD. Now I am wondering which way is better:

1. Stay in Canada and do a PhD here

• Pros: I can get Canadian Citizenship after graduation && I'll have a North American PhD which I've heard is kinda better than UK's && No racism felt here
  • Cons: UofT QS-rank is 20 in CS && It's god damn cold here

2.  Go for the U of Oxford

• Pros: Global reputation (QS rank in CS: 3rd) && I like cloudy weather  
  • Cons: A UK PhD or a US PhD?!! && It will take 5 years to get permanent resident card && British racism 

I have also applied for "MIT", "Cambridge" and "ETH Zurich" but not received anything yet. 

Thanks

Umm could you clarify what you mean by British racism? 

Nowhere in your post do you mention about the living costs, programme costs, programme content, anything like that. The UK programmes are still very highly regarded and it will depend where you are planning on building your career as to which is more appropriate for you. 

2 minutes ago, piglet33 said:

Umm could you clarify what you mean by British racism? 

Nowhere in your post do you mention about the living costs, programme costs, programme content, anything like that. The UK programmes are still very highly regarded and it will depend where you are planning on building your career as to which is more appropriate for you. 

No offence, but I just have seen(on internet) or heard bad things about the way British people treat foreigners. I've never been there.