PhD in organization and management--working experience

twinkle star

Hi folks,

I am currently studying sociology in US, and I also majored in sociology for undergraduate studies. My specialization is organizational analysis. Considering the miserable Phd placements in sociology department, I am thinking about applying for phd program on organization and management in business school. I have read some Phd student profiles in some business schools, such as Cornell Johnson, Toronto Rotman and UCLA Anderson. Then I found that many of their phd students have relevant working experiences prior to phd studies, such as management consulting. So I am wondering is working experience very helpful for applying to phd programs on organization and management? I have never worked before, with limited internship experience. Will that be a big disadvantage for me? Are business schools willing to accept students without business/economics/finance background? I did take many courses in organization analysis and have some research experience in this field. I hope some guy can give me some advice. Thank you very much :)

• 5 weeks later...

I just applied to UCLA and Rotman without a masters or work experience. They recommended that I emphasize my research experience and fit with the faculty. I think you would have a chance but you should email professors you are interested in before applying. They are usually very helpful.

• 3 weeks later...