Getting into programs with an MA

Timemachines

This may be a misguided observation, however, I'm noticing that many competitive applicants receiving interview invites do so without the need of a masters...and that pursuing an MA may actually hurt your chances. Can anyone speak to this? I got my masters because I recognized I had a weak undergraduate gpa that would never get me into a clinical program (above  3.0 though). This is my first cycle applying but I'm feeling pretty deflated about it. Not entirely sure how I should go about strengthening my applications for the future if my GPA is a kiss of death.

My understanding from many PhD students is that a masters typically is used by people with lower undergrad gpas.  This being said, yea, I have heard mixed feelings regarding getting a masters before PhD (separately and not simply along the way during your PhD program) - it seems to really vary from person to person, kind of like the importance of GRE - some professors use them a lot (or too much, depending on who you ask), and some find the notion of using them as a major deciding factor as being silly.  There is probably no real good suggestion here, form what I have gathered at least.  

I've never heard of it "hurting" anyone's chances, but many clinical programs (and PhD programs in other disciplines) refuse to accept an applicant if they don't have a related master's degree. One program I applied to started accepting applicants with only bachelor's degrees this cycle. So, if I'm accepted and enroll, I'll be one of the first students (possibley the only) entering without a master's degree.