MoMA Internships

chloedejonge

Hey, I thought it would be a good idea to open a topic for the MoMA internships, because they have been mentioned a couple of times in other threads. I applied for the Summer internship, and haven't received a confirmation yet. Anyone in the same situation?

Hi,

I applied for the summer internship with my first choice as Media & Performance Art. I've heard that they don't send you an email confirmation, and they contact for interviews much closer to the acceptance date - so I'm thinking late March or April at the earliest.

I'm very unsure if I will even be a competitive applicant. I'm trying to start grad school in the fall and have proof of acceptance, but my undergrad is in film (class of 2011) and not art history. However, I have 5 years professional experience, with the last 2 directly working within curating, producing, coordinating, and administration for art collectives and arts education. Hope they take people outside of academia!

Good luck to you!

Edited by radredhead

It's unbelievably early but I'm strongly considering taking a year off from graduate school to pursue the 12-month internship at MoMA. I think I have a good chance this time around, considering my recent research, work experience, and certain recommenders. At the same time, how often do people get accepted that are mid-way through their MA? I could wait until I graduate but something in my gut says that now is the right time.

GhostsBeforeBreakfast at what point are you in your studies at the moment? I think you can get accepted mid-way through grad school but you have to come up with a really good reason for why don't you wait until graduating.