Gap year between undergrad and grad school?

jamiehwang

Question

I graduated a semester early with a  3.7 in International Relations (minor in East Asian Languages and Cultures), but now I face an awkward gap year before I can apply to go for my MPP in Fall 2017. 

Every summer/break of my undergrad career, I was always either working part time or had some kind of internship going on in the background. I just finished working on a conference as a temp job, and am currently working part-time as a managing teacher at a learning center.

My question is: are grad schools going to be critical of my choice to work part-time rather than pursuing a public policy related internship? Should I be spending this gap year on another internship/fellowship, or is it okay to take a break from academia, focus on taking the GRE, and trying to save up a bit of money? 

I've never taken a break before, so any suggestions about what to do with myself for the next year or so would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

4 answers to this question

I had a gap year this last year... because I got rejected last year and had to apply again. 

I was accepted this time for a PhD and my gap year didn't seem to have a negative effect at all... and I wasn't working either. 

Instead I volunteered. There are likely lots of volunteer options in a city near you, as long as you don't live in the middle of nowhere. If there are any museums nearby.they very often take volunteer docents. If there is an REI or similar store near you, they often put together eco-volunteer stuff, like planting trees and things. I worked on myself... my art, music, etc. 

I studied. I went back through things that I struggled with in undergrad and started re-learning them. I also bought some new textbooks that further delve into what I want to research in grad school. It certainly helped me when I went and talked with my POI.