APPLICATION DILLEMMA

akroor

Hi,

Im currently a 2nd year graduate student in a Political Science Department. The professor that I came to work with left my University and did not take me along, because he had other students that were already deeply involved with him. Now I am stuck and there arent others in my department who want to take me as their advisee. I would find a way, but I am inclined to get out of here and start somewhere else.

I am planning to apply to another university. I have found a professor that I like, contacted him and he seems to be interested. My problem is basically that I need 3 references for my application to the other place. I feel like I cannot ask any of the professors at my current school, because I dont want them to know that Im thinking of leaving. But the only other options are my professors from Undergrad, which was a long time ago.

Any thoughts on this? When people apply for jobs to another school, but they need recommendations, how do they do it? I cant imagine they ask their boss for a reference for another job. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I'm a bit confused. You said there aren't any other professors at your school that want to take you as their advisee, so why do you think they would be insulted/annoyed if they knew you were applying to other programmes? Surely they would recognize that their school is no longer a good fit for you since the other professor left, and would want to help you find a place that could provide a supervisor.