Advice for Stanford IPS admitted students

I'm a current MA student at Stanford's International Policy Studies (IPS) program and want to extend a warm congratulations to admitted students! I know decision-making can be tough; I remember being in your shoes last year. If you or any potential applicants for next year have any questions, you can post them here. I can also put you in touch with a current student whose interests align with yours.

Hi Caroline! Thank you so much for offering to provide some insight. Stanford IPS is on my list of top choices (among HKS (no funding), Columbia SIPA ($), SAIS ($)). I think at this point, I'm leaning towards IPS, but I wanted to gather as much information before making the final decision. If you could provide any opinions/facts regarding the following questions, I would really appreciate it:

• A little about me: I went to a top LAC with a major in IR and economics. For the last two years, I have been working as a quantitative analyst for a well known think tank. After a masters program, I hope to either work in international development(at WB, IFC, UN, etc.)/consulting OR pursue doctoral degree in public policy. My reasons for not applying to a PhD program this round are: 1) insufficient quant coursework to get into top public policy PhD programs; 2) patchy undergrad GPA; 3) not 100% sure if I want to go into research (also interested in industry, management consulting, etc.)
  • During IPS, I was hoping to take a few undergrad and grad courses from the math/stats/business department. From what I have heard, it seems like there is a multidisciplinary spirit within the general Stanford community. Is this also applicable to IPS students? Have you or your classmates had difficulty taking non-IPS courses as part of your electives?