Anyone worried about cuts?

caputmundi

Hi.

Our classics forum is dead. I'm hoping this topic will generate some more activity. Regardless, LateAntique, I would love your input. :)

I'm wondering if anyone is particularly worried, like I am, about admissions numbers this year. I have a friend in a top PhD. program who has confided to me that her department will be admitting far fewer applicants this year. Has anyone heard or know of anything similar?

Maybe I'm being paranoid, and I hate to project my fears on anyone else... but I just can't feel comfortable about my application and my chances. I am applying to top schools, and I feel almost convinced that I will not be admitted into a single program. And, at least according to the objective standards people discuss on this forum, my application is in pretty good shape. I just have this whole idea that programs will admit fewer students...and those students will all be coming with MPhils from Oxford or Cambridge or after having spent a year abroad on a Fullbright.

Ease me fears. Confirm them. Just tell me what you think.

I know one of the programs to which I'm applying isn't even sure if they can accept any students and won't know until January, however another program I'm applying to has admitted fewer students than normal over the last few years and has had a lot of drop-outs, so they've got money to spare. Private schools have fared far better in this economy than public ones. I suppose we'll know soon enough.

If this year is anything like last year, which I suspect it is, admissions will be very tight. The number of accepted students at almost all universities dropped drastically last year.

That said, I agree with LateAntique about private universities. If I recall correctly, Brown hosted 15 students for an interview weekend and accepted 5 of them last year.