Economic Geography

ebsfbs

Hi,

I am an international student and this is my first post.. Good luck to everybody in their applications.

I need to learn further information about geography programs (I really know very little about them)

I have double majors in Economics (BA) and History (BA)

And completed my MSc in Economics (dissertation: I studied on insitutional political economy) and MA in modern history (dissertation : which I studied on regional development of some provinces under liberal ecnomic policies and the effects of the globalization and during this study I am acquianted with the theories of economic geographers)

At this application process because phd programs in economics are highly quantoitative and my concentrations are not welcomed in these programs I began to search other, more social programs.

In both UCLA urban planning and geography programs there are proffessors which are concentrated on my fields of interest. (as well as Toronto and UBC geograpy programs) However, I know very little about geography programs.. are they open to international students? or to a student who have no geography background? how competititve are they?

I have a poor verbal score from GRE (since I was so concentrated on economy programs at first I do not care it, unfortunately now I do not have time to study and take another GRE) but I guess my other skills are well enough (I ranked first in both classes economics and history)

Is there anybody who can tell me my chance in geography programs? I am also confused about urban planning or geography??

• 3 weeks later...

I may not be able to help you much, but a few years ago I was quite interested in economic geography and had a look at some programs. My impression is that UCLA is the best, and UW (Seattle) is also very good. Are you from China/Hong Kong? There is a professor there, Kam Wing Chan, who specializes at econ geography in China and is a very nice guy.