Advice for a Non-CSD Undergrad

Hello! I am an undergraduate student who recently discovered the world of speech pathology and fell in love. It's been quite the winding road, but I wouldn't change it for anything. Having said that, I will be graduating next May with my undergraduate degree in a different field and plan to begin applying for grad school for the fall of 2017. The school I currently attend does not have a CSD/SLP program, so I will be applying to other masters programs in hopes of getting in. I know how competitive the field is, and I just want some advice about how to make myself stand out in the sea of expertly prepared CSD students.

Edited by olivia_batchelor

What will your undergrad degree be in?

If you want to start grad school right away without pre-reqs then you need to look into 3 year programs where the CSD undergrad isn't necessary (not every school will have this). 

You need a strong GPA, and good GRE scores. Depending on your major, are/were you involved in anything? Can you make it relate it to SLP? Is there something specific that makes you interested in this field? 

I know a good number of people who got accepted to grad school without any pre-reqs or CSD undergrad, but they were able to convey to the admissions committees why their previous field & experiences would make them a great SLP. 

You can look into volunteer/work opportunities helping people with disabilities, young kids, or the elderly. If your school has research in psychology, language, neuroscience, etc then see if you can get involved in that in any way! You'll learn a lot & it'll make you a strong applicant.