Transfer to a different grad school for a nonprofessional reason?

Laptopcase

Hi everyone,

I am an incoming graduate student truly excited to pursue my research interests. The school I'm going to has a great STEM program, and I was very happy about my choice. However, even though the school itself has a great program, I am very unhappy about its location, and sadly, I'm considering transferring to a different graduate program. I have a few questions about grad school transfer for nonprofessional reasons.

I've looked at some posts, and it seems like personal dissatisfaction with the location is a totally valid reason to transfer to a different place. If so, when will be the best time to do so? I'm happy to spend one or two years because I'm sure I will learn a lot, but I will prefer to stay as short as possible. I've read in another post that applying to other schools in the second year may be better because I will then have some time to get to know some professors. At the same time, I read that students can apply off-cycle (in the spring).

The school I'm attending is quite prestigious, but I will definitely love to go to an equally prestigious or more prestigious school. Would that be too difficult? I'm sure I will be a more prepared, qualified candidate after some time in my current school.

Finally, because I'm attending a STEM program, I receive stipends. If I stop the current program in the middle and receive a Master's Degree, do I still get to receive stipends? Or do I need to pay for the tuition after deciding to transfer?

Thank you so much! I appreciate your help a lot! Honestly I don't know whom else to ask for advice... I'm happy to hear about any other concerns I forgot to mention!

Hello!

Sorry to hear that you are unhappy in your location. You are right that being happy where you are is very important and it's perfectly fine to change schools because you don't like the location.