Grade conversion for international students

Hey there,

I am currently preparing my applications for different PhD programs and as an international student I am very much wondering about the conversion of my grades to the GPA. I am from Germany where I stand at 1.2-1.3 on a scale from 1.0 (best) to 4.0 (passed) and 5.0 (failed).

My two primary questions are 1) how universities in the US usually convert foreign grades that is for example which service do they use and 2) whether I should write 0.0 as some departments request or calculate my GPA myself and make them aware that I did?

I already contacted two offices who were at least unwilling to say anything and regarding number 2), Princeton said I should fill in my German average (1.3), while others urged me to write 0.0. Regarding the latter, till now I read multiple times that admission committees tend to get confused by it and I imagine that you drop out quickly in case that they set even a very low cut-off point at 2.0 or so.

Maybe some of you have had similar issues and were able to resolve this conundrum so I would be very glad to receive some advice. 

I know that state departments of education have the ability to translate your grades. Every state has an organization set up, so contact them. I also lived in Germany and understand the rigorous programs they have there, so you are in good shape. Don't rely on universities to do this for you.

5 minutes ago, cool cat said:

I know that state departments of education have the ability to translate your grades. Every state has an organization set up, so contact them. I also lived in Germany and understand the rigorous programs they have there, so you are in good shape. Don't rely on universities to do this for you.