Let's share research interests

George

I really don't know if this will be greeted with praise or criticism, but I decided to give it a shot. I'm really interested to hear what other people's interests are, whatever they may be. Even though my background is in mathematics/computer science/robotics, I would love to hear about the persecution of the Alevis in Turkey, the lyrical devices invented by James Joyce, sexism in ex-communist satellites: anything and everything! My fear is that it looks like I'm asking you to write me a SoP or to paste your own. I don't want that. I want us to just let loose and share our excitement, our pride and joy, with the words we want to use, not the ones we think will be deemed correct by a third party. There is no need for 'fit' either which will eliminate a lot of the stress. I know for a fact that every one of you can share something interesting if someone is willing to lend you their ears. Well, I'm lending mine to begin with.

I want share my own story, but I don't want to appear conceited as if it's any more important than anyone else's. I would like to know if others are interested in sharing their stories, and then I will more than gladly share mine.

What do you, fellow comrades in arms, think? Feel free to write as much as you like, though, personally, I would love to read even pages' worth from each person. I know it takes room to explain things.

Edited by George

um...

i'm kind of on the fence with this one. i mean, i love to talk about my topic but in these times of applications/submissions, my paranoia has hit an all-time peak.