2010 Ed PhD hopefuls?

t_ruth

Step up and introduce yourself!

I'm in my first year now and I remember how great it was last year to at least know some other education people (as it seems there are few of us on these forums)...

I am! I would like to talk to others.....rolleyes.gif

I was wondering where all the PhD/EdD applicants were hiding this cycle!

I saw another post of yours in the Waiting it Out forum, and it looks like we're applying to some of the same schools. If you don't mind my asking, which programs are you applying to within those schools?

For me:

Policy Research, Evaluation, and Measurement at UPenn

Quantitative Policy Analysis at Harvard

Experimental Education Research Training at Vanderbilt.

My background:

-3 years as a math teacher in public schools

-2 years at a non-profit research organization that contracts with several federal and state offices

No masters yet, but I'm currently enrolled in classes that could culminate in one if I'm not admitted to any other schools for Fall 2010.

Also, congrats on the acceptance from Maryland! I know their graduate programs in education have very strong reputations.

Hi there!

I don't mind telling you about myself at all, it seems that many are very tight-lipped on here!

I have a master's degree in reading from Penn and a bachelors also from Penn, but in public policy. I have been a teacher-researcher for the past four years. My research work deals with learner differences related to literate practices in populations of struggling readers and my other project deals with content area literacy in adolescents. This work has involved qual/quan mixed-methods models. This work has allowed me to get some experience with publications and with conference presentations. I love this part of my job, which is why I am applying to doctoral programs.

I teach English and Latin, which I love and if I do begin a doctoral program next year I will miss!