Georgetown: MA Security Studies vs MPP vs JD

Policy24

I'm looking to make the switch to a policy role related to International Relations/Security, Foreign Policy, or Defense Policy. I'm in the process of interviewing for some opportunities, but also want to pursue graduate education (and believe I'll be able to get at least a partial sponsorship if not full). I'm looking at these 3 programs at Georgetown and trying to figure out which is the best to target. The dream job would be working for the Director of Policy Planning at State or Undersecretary of Defense for Policy. Which of these 3 degrees would set me up best to puruse one of these opportunities? My undergrad is Econ and I'd do the program at night fwiw. 

Hey Policy24,

I'm a recent Georgetown SSP grad, so I may be biased. I'm also a mid-career government employee at the DoD and am looking at these boards again because I'm looking into the possibility of doing a PhD in Public Policy just for the heck of it.

All three of these programs are probably likely to get you to where you want to go, but SSP is the one I would recommend, for two main reasons: it will probably be more relevant from a curriculum perspective for the positions you described, and it's shorter than the other programs. I don't think it being a shorter program is a drawback in this instance, because SSP is probably the top program of its kind. Keep in mind though that government hiring officials (and most everyone else in government) are far less concerned with the rankings of programs than people on this board.

But like I said, all three of these programs would likely get you to where you want to go. Because you have an undergrad econ background, you may find that the public policy program has more econ-heavy options, but obviously SSP has better international relations and security studies courses.