Slavic 2017 +

cokitty

Hello all! Just thought I would start a new thread for those of us who are or are considering throwing our names in for this round of applications.

Of course, to some extent, this also operates as a "what are my chances" thread (as most "chances" threads do not apply to our speciality...) and a thread to discuss different programs and their relative merits.

I graduated this past May with a degree in Russian Language and Literature.  Last fall, I did some initial canvassing of websites and came up with a shortlist (from an already short list of programs available!) of programs and I'm working on narrowing those down and starting my applications.  I'm living in Moscow right now and teaching English, not only to bolster my language ability and teaching skills, but also to be more competitive by having spent time in Russia (which is my area of interest) as I wasn't able to study abroad for financial reasons.  I'm hoping to complete an MA and continue directly to a PhD in Russian Literature.

Programs currently on my list are (more or less in order):

• Illinois U-C
  • UCLA
  • Ohio
  • USC
  • Northwestern
  • Washington
  • Indiana
  • Harvard

Initially, I was very interested in Berkeley and Stanford, but not many of their faculty have interests similar to mine, it seems.  I'm mostly interested in translation and representation of women (esp. in Soviet literature).

So, let's have it! Of course, I am also interested in current or past students of SLLC and your impressions and opinions. :)

8 hours ago, heliogabalus said:

Indiana seems to have been bolstering the translation side of their program in the last few years.